The Last Few Shabbatot

Some friends of mine from LA came to spend Shabbat with me a few weeks ago.  Two of them are on Nativ this year, the program I was on last year, and the other is at Hebrew University for the semester.  It was really nice to have them here with me for Shabbat – I didn’t realize how good it would be to have familiar faces around.

 

Ein BokekThe following week on Friday, I went to Ein Bokek, a spring next to the Dead Sea.  It was beautiful!  Ein BokekThen I went to the Dead Sea and slept there for Shabbat.  It was the second time I had ever floated in the Dead Sea – it was really cool! 

Ein Bokek

That Sunday morning I had the testing for Pilots course, which I didn’t pass.

 

The next week was Chanukah!  I lit candles every night with my Kibbutz family, and they even gave me a present, which I wasn’t expecting at all.  Thursday night of Chanukah, I went up north to Zichron Ya’akov for a get together with all the Israelis from camp.  It was great to see everyone and to just be together.  I spent that night in K’far Sabba with one of my friends from camp.  That Friday, Shabbat of Chanukah, I went with old teachers of mine from LA to her parents’ house in Kedumim, one of the oldest settlement in the West Bank.  It was my first time in the West Bank.  As we were driving up the mountain road, I couldn’t help but take in the beauty of the scenery around me; the rocky hills lined with olive and citrus trees under a cloudy winter sky.  There was a much stronger military presence, but it didn’t bother me at all.  It was a nice Shabbat.  I came back to Sa’ad on Saturday night.

 

Last Shabbat, I stayed on Sa’ad.  It was a very well needed relaxing Shabbat.  These coming weeks will be filled with friends visiting for winter break and more testing for the army – I am excited for both.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

