It’s Not Much, But It’s Home

As we drove from the airport to Kibbutz Sa’ad, I couldn’t stop looking out the window at the cars and trucks whizzing by, the endless fields, and the road signs pointing out names of places that have become all too familiar to me.  I probably had the same dumb, ridiculous grin on my face the entire car ride.  I was just that happy to be back.

 

Kibbutz Sa’ad SignWe pulled in to the gate of the kibbutz and drove to my building where I lugged all my bags upstairs to the second floor where Ruti opened the door to my new room.  I was a little taken aback by how small it was.  I didn’t think that I had any expectations, but I guess I did.  One of my friends who met me at the airport came back to kibbutz with us to visit a friend, so her and her friend helped me to set up my room and unpack all my bags. Door to my room It was so nice of them to help me, and it was even nicer to not have to worry about unpacking everything after hours in transit.  After I made my bed, and while my friends were going through my bags, I took a shower.  Traveling makes you feel so dirty!  I got in My Bathroomto the bathroom, which is the size of a small closet, and I was afraid to turn the water on too hard for fear that it would get the toilet all wet.


After I cleaned up and changed my cloths, I called my parents from Ruti’s phone to let them know that I had arrived safely and that I was setting myself up on kibbutz.  Then I had dinner with my friend and her friends from kibbutz.  I was so tired that I had to come back to my room around 10pm and just go to sleep.  Sleep – what could be better than sleep after more than 24 hours of being awake?  I do love my sleep, but I also love meat, Shwarma.  ClosetMy friend who lives here on kibbutz came back around midnight from classes in Jerusalem, and brought me my first Shwarma as an Oleh Chadash, a new immigrant.  She came to my room and woke me up for a little midnight snack.  It was delicious!  I couldn’t have finished my initial move-in any better: a shower, a little sleep, friends, and a Shwarma.  And all was good in the world.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

